My Birthday Day Out and Visit to Guthrie & Ghani

It was my Birthday the other week and I had a fabulous day out with Charlotte before she went off the big full time proper school. We had pastries and hot chocolate for breakfast, a walk by the canal, a visit to the Sea Life Centre (see evidence of 4D show below), a mooch around the shops, hot dogs from Ed’s Easy Diner in Selfridges and an ice-cream from an ice-cream van (not for me though I was stuffed after lunch!)

The day was topped off by a visit to Guthrie & Ghani. Those of you that watched the first series (yes there is a second series!) of The Great British Sewing Bee may know that Guthrie & Ghani is owned by Lauren, one of the finalists.

DSC_1670[1]

It was a stunning shop that was light bright an airy. It was filled with interesting fabrics, a great selection of yarns and some accessories that I’d never seen. They also had a cafe where you could grab a cuppa and a piece of cake. Sadly we weren’t staying that long otherwise I would have made myself at home! Charlotte, however did have enough time to make friends with Lauren…telling her all about our trip to the Sea Life Centre…thanks Lauren for being so lovely.

Check out the amazing cabinet they had for storing their wonderful bits and pieces. I seriously want one of these!

I bought some lovely bright voile to make a Sorbetto top and some lace edged bias binding for the armholes

I also picked up a paper version of the Oliver+S Music Box Jumper Dress sewing pattern to make a school dress for Charlotte

All in all I had a really fabulous day. A belated thank you to everyone for my Birthday wishes!

4 thoughts on “My Birthday Day Out and Visit to Guthrie & Ghani

  1. Teresa

    Oh how beautiful and warm and inviting. I’m glad your day was great and I’m a bit jealous, I would LOVE to visit Lauren’s shop (she was my favorite with her sweet spirit).

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Kids Clothes Week :: Starting Out | Little Black Duck

  3. Pingback: Kids Clothes Week :: Oliver + S Music Box Jumper Dress | Little Black Duck

Leave a Reply

